monthly wrap ups

June Recap!

Hey, everyone, it’s Dana, and today I’m here with you for my June recap! June was a great month for me reading and blogging wise, even though I did suffer through a slump for some time. Without further ado, let’s get started!

Favorites

Binge-Reading Series

June was definitely the month of series binge reads, which you will see more of in my reading wrap up. I finished 3 series in June, and they were all spectacular: the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, Shades of Magic by V.E. Schwab, and the Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. The Lunar Chronicles was my favorite, and I loved it so much that it has actually become my second favorite series of all time, right after Harry Potter.

iZombie

Since I’m a TV addict, I started a new show in June called iZombie. Rose McIver, the lead of the show, described it on Jimmy Kimmel as a “rom-com zom dram” and that pretty much sums it up. Please, please don’t be fooled by the name or the stupid trailer, because iZombie has quickly become one of my favorite TV shows! It’s about a girl who is (unwillingly) turned into a zombie, which has a serious affect on all of the relationships in her life, whether it be her family, her now-ex fiance, or her best friend. She works at a morgue, where she consumes the brains of murder victims, but with each brain she eats, she inherits some of that person’s personality and their memories. She uses their memories to solve their murders at the police station, but it’s not just a cop drama. There’s also an underground zombie business, drug dealers, and a crazy CEO who’s trying to kill all of the zombies. It’s amazing.

Farewell, June

June was an extremely hectic month at first. I was finishing up school in the first two weeks, and I had exams, my sister’s graduation, and Ramadan. My exams went well for the most part, thankfully, and it was bittersweet but exciting to see my sister graduate. Then, it was Eid, a 3-day Muslim holiday that celebrates the end of Ramadan, and it was lots of fun to be with my whole family.

I was supposed to travel on June 28th, but personal issues came up, so we had to reschedule our trip to July 6th. I was upset at first, but I’m actually happy that we did, because it gave me more time to spend with my friends and cousins, as well as more time to pack. I’m super excited to travel, because I’m going to be touring colleges, seeing Hamilton, going to an Ed Sheeran concert, attending a three week program at Brown University with my best friend, and going back home to Boston where I’ll be catching up with family and friends. I’m going to be super busy, so I probably won’t be able to blog as much, but I’m hoping to still get lots of reading done.

The first two weeks of June were amazing reading-wise. I was reading faster than I ever had, and I ended up being eleven books ahead of my Goodreads reading challenge. Then, I suffered through a week-ish reading slump that honestly felt like forever. I chalk it up to speeding through the Lunar Chronicles and not feeling like anything measured up, as well as binge watching The Office and iZombie. In the final week of June, however, I managed to make it out of my slump, and I ended up reading 11 books in the month of June.

Read this Month

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 1.51.06 PM.png

  1. CINDER by Marissa Meyer – ★★★★★
  2. SCARLET by Marissa Meyer – ★★★★★
  3. CRESS by Marissa Meyer – ★★★★★
  4. WINTER by Marissa Meyer – ★★★★★
  5. A GATHERING OF SHADOWS by V.E. Schwab – ★★★★
  6. A CONJURING OF LIGHT by V.E. Schwab – ★★★★★
  7. FAIREST by Marissa Meyer – ★★★★★
  8. TELL ME THREE THINGS by Julie Buxbaum – ★★★
  9. CITY OF FALLEN ANGELS by Cassandra Clare – ★★★★
  10. CITY OF LOST SOULS by Cassandra Clare – ★★★★
  11. CITY OF HEAVENLY FIRE by Cassandra Clare – ★★★★★

On the Blog

bookish

tv

July Foresights

Like I said before, July is definitely going to be a busy month for me, with all my traveling, college tours, and summer program, but also with SAT prep and AP work. That being said, I probably won’t be blogging as much, but I’m still going to try and read a lot. I’m not going to have a monthly TBR, though, because I’m not going to be bringing any books with me on vacation, since I’ll be buying all of mine in the US.

Goals for the Month

  • Read a lot
  • Try to write at least 2 reviews
  • Vlog vacation
  • Finish AP work
  • Keep writing my novel
  • Be happy 🙂

So that’s it for my June recap! How was your month? Let me know in the comments below, and I’ll see you guys next time 🙂

-Dana

Leave a Reply

