features, memes, tags

Books I Want to Read This Summer!

Hi, everyone! Today, I’m back with a new post all about the books I want to read this summer! I always have much more time to read in the summer, since I’m not so busy with school, and I’m going to be stuck at home for the whole month of June, so I will basically just be reading and watching TV. A lot of the books on this list are actually series, either ones I have started but not completed or want to start, but there are a lot of standalones as well. So, without further ado, let’s get started!

Disclaimer: none of these photos are my own, I got them all of Google!

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

I’m probably the only person in the reading community who hasn’t finished this series. I did read the first 3 books back in March, and I really enjoyed them, but I wanted to finish the Infernal Devices before I got to the final 3. I’m reading Clockwork Prince right now, and I’m hoping to get to Clockwork Princess before the school year ends, so then I’ll be able to get to TMI and finally finish the series!

Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

This is another series that I really need to finish. I read the first 3 books in the series years ago, and I really want to complete it now that I finally have all the books. That being said, I’m planning on rereading the Percy Jackson books first, so this one might take a little longer than expected, but I really want to finish the series so I can catch up on Magnus Chase and the Trials of Apollo!

Shades of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Yet another series that I need to complete! I read A Darker Shade of Magic last month, and I fell in love with everything about it–the characters, the world, the plot, everything. The final 2 books came in the mail last weekend, and while I really want to get to them, I don’t think I’ll have a chance to before school ends, so I am planning to finish them this summer!

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I really am planning on reading a lot of series this summer, and this is one of them. I’ve heard loads about this series, and it’s been on my TBR forever, because it just sounds so freaking epic. Fairy tale retellings plus science fiction + badass heroines? I cannot wait to finally read these books this summer, because they have been sitting unread on my shelf for far too long.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

I read the first book in this series back in seventh grade, and I didn’t really enjoy it that much. However, I really want to try these books again, because while I am well aware that they are not the most complex series out there, I hear they are really cute and a great guilty pleasure. Plus, the covers are absolutely gorgeous, so that always helps!

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

To be honest, I don’t really even know much of what this book is about, but I have heard nothing but incredible things about it. I haven’t read Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, but her writing sounds magical, and I can’t wait to dive into her books with Strange the Dreamer this summer!

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

This is an Alice in Wonderland retelling that has been on my TBR for so long now, and I can’t wait to get to it. However, instead of being about Alice, it’s about the Queen of Hearts and how she became the way she is. Personally, I think that’s even more exciting than if the story were about Alice, because I am always up for a good villain story.

In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken

This is the final book in the Darkest Minds trilogy, and I really need to read it. I finished Never Fade, the second book, back in February, and I really enjoyed it. I never really had an urge to read the next book, though, until I found out yesterday that the movie is currently being filmed, and AMANDLA STENBERG IS GOING TO BE RUBY!!! I love Amandla Stenberg, so I am so freaking excited. Plus, the plot of these books is amazing, and reading it I could always imagine it in my head as if it were a movie, so I really need to finish this trilogy.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

I was a little apprehensive about this book at first, because even though Fangirl is one of my favorite books of all time, I thought the Simon fanfiction excerpts within the book were boring. But I have heard nothing but amazing things about this book, and Rainbow Rowell is one of my favorite authors, so I am definitely going to try and get to this one this summer.

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

I’ve had this book on my shelf for a while now, and it just sounds like a super cute contemporary, which is exactly what summer is for. I cannot wait to read this one!

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

I DNFed this book a while back, not because it was horrible, but because I had just finished The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, and there is literally nothing that can compare to that book. However, I’ve heard amazing things about this one, and everyone says that it’s super funny, so I’m hoping to get to it this summer!

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This book has literally been on my TBR for TWO YEARS. I am the ultimate level of trash for not having picked it up yet. I’ve heard so many amazing things about this book, and I know the writing is beautiful, so beautiful that I already have some of my favorite quotes picked out, and I haven’t even read the freaking book yet.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

This is by far my most anticipated release–only 4 more days!! This is basically a book about two Indian American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married. It features everything I love, from diversity, to humor, to just being a rom com in general. I cannot wait to read this book!

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

acowar_us1

I know, I know, I still haven’t read it. But they still haven’t released the hardcover copy where I live, and I refuse to buy the paperback! If you’ve been living under a rock and don’t know what ACOWAR is, it’s the third book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas, which is one of the most beloved books in the reading community, as well as one of my favorite series of all time. I highly, highly recommend it to anyone who hasn’t read them yet, and I can’t wait to get my hands on ACOWAR!

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

This is one of my favorite series of all time, and I have been waiting for this book for two years now. It’s finally out, and I can’t wait to get my hands on it this summer, and see how Jenny Han ties everything up!

Public Relations by Katie Heaney and Arianna Rebolini

I actually didn’t even know this book existed until a few days ago, but it’s been all I’ve been able to think about since. It’s about a girl who is a publicist for this rock star–who is based after Harry Styles!!!–and she arranges for him to be in a fake relationship with another celebrity, to help boost his image. Of course, she ends up falling for him. This book literally sounds like the perfect summer read, and I cannot wait to get my hands on it!

Geekerella by Ashley Poston

This book has been getting so much love in the reading community ever since it came out, and it sounds amazing. A cute Cinderella retelling is exactly the kind of book you can imagine yourself reading as you’re lying by the pool or at the beach, and I can’t wait to read it!

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

I feel like this is another quintessential summer read. This one is a You’ve Got Mail retelling, a rom com that I’ve never seen, but I am planning on watching this summer. I’ve heard such great things about it, and it sounds so cute! I cannot wait to get my hands on it 🙂

So that’s it for today’s post! Obviously, I want to read so many more books this summer, but these are just a few that I’m choosing to talk about today. Have you read any of these books yet? If you have, let me know what you thought of them, because I’d love to hear from you guys! I’ll see you next time!

-Dana

3 thoughts on “Books I Want to Read This Summer!

  1. You have such a good choice of books to read this summer. I’m looking at the new releases thinking how I need to get to them but I’m so caught up in everything else I have to read. I love summer because you can just knock out so many books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

