features, memes, tags

A to Z Bookish Survey!

Hi, everyone! Today I’m here with the A to Z bookish survey, an older tag I’ve seen surfacing around on Booktube that I really wanted to do. Tags are some of my favorite videos to watch/read, so without further ado, let’s get started!

Author you’ve read the most books from

My most read author is actually Jessica Burkhart, who wrote the Canterwood Crest series. I was obsessed with those books back in elementary school, and I read all 18 of her books. But for an author who I still read to this day, the next 2 on the list are Rick Riordan with 11 books, and Sarah J. Maas with 9.

Best sequel ever

I’ve read so many amazing sequels, but the best one for me has to go to A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. That book was just perfect on so many levels, and I can’t wait to get to ACOWAR.

Currently reading

I’m currently reading Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare! I read Clockwork Angel back in March, and I enjoyed it, but I’ve heard much better things about the next 2 books in the series, so I’m excited to really get into it.

Drink of choice while reading

Literally the only thing I drink is water. In fact, I don’t even like to drink–or eat, for that matter–that much when I’m reading, because I’m too afraid that I’ll spill!

E-reader or physical book?

Physical book, ALWAYS! The only books I’ve ever read online are Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi and Caraval by Stephanie Garber, and that was because I was extremely desperate. For one thing, reading from a screen gives me a headache, and I don’t think that anything can beat the feeling of a physical book in your hands.

Fictional character you probably would have dated in high school

I’m still in high school right now, and let me tell you, if Levi from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell was my classmate, I would have definitely dated him.

Glad you gave this book a chance

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi! I was so close to DNFing this book in the beginning, but I am so glad that I didn’t, because it’s gone on to become one of my favorite series of all time.

13455782

Hidden gem book

My favorite hidden gem book is The Six Rules of Maybe by Deb Caletti. The writing and the characters in this book are simply magical, and it is one of my all time favorites. I highly, highly recommend it!

Important moment in your reading life

It’s either reading the Harry Potter series for the first time, because those were the first books I ever really loved, or when I picked up An Ember in the Ashes this past June and how it got me out of a three year reading slump.

Just finished

The last book I finished was Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi. It was a reread, and, of course, I gave it 5 stars!

Kinds of books you won’t read

I’m trying to read more and more kinds of books, but I think the one kind of book I will never pick up is erotica. Definitely not for me.

Longest book you’ve read

The longest book I’ve ever read was Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling. At 870 pages, I read it five years ago, and it’s still the longest book I’ve ever read.

Major book hangover because of

When I read The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas back at the end of March, it put me in a major reading slump because there was literally nothing that could compare to the masterpiece that is that book!!

410eexjpxcl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Number of bookcases you own

I own three bookcases, but only two of them are filled with my actual books. The other one is for all of my school related stuff.

One book you have read multiple times

I have read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell multiple times, and I will continue to read it again and again for the rest of my life, because I just love it that much.

Preferred place to read

Okay, but is there any better place to read than my bed? I don’t think so.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read

God, there are so many quotes that I love. I was going to go with one from The Book Thief, but I haven’t even read that yet (I know, I know, I’m ashamed too), but I have to go with this one from Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi:

Books are easily destroyed. But words will live as long as people can remember them.

Reading regret

My biggest regret by far is how I pretty much stopped reading in middle school and didn’t get back into it again until the summer before my sophomore year of high school!

Series you started and need to finish

I really, really need to finish The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. I’m probably the only reader in the world who hasn’t finished these books. I’ve read the first 3 books in the series, and I’m planning to get to the final 3 after I finish the Infernal Devices!

Three of your all-time favorite books

Oh my God, it’s impossible for me to only choose three, so I’m going to choose five instead: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling, Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi, A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, and Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater.

Unapologetic fangirl for

WARNER AND JULIETTE. Enough said.

Very excited for this release more than all the others

I am so, so excited for the release of When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon! I love romantic comedies, and although I am not Indian myself, I am Arab, and the cultures are pretty close, so I’m excited to read about characters so similar to me in such a cute context.

cover100428-medium

Worst bookish habit

Easy: I buy way too many.

X marks the spot: start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book

Fairest by Marissa Meyer! (Which I still have not read yet, oops.)

Your latest book purchase

My latest book purchases were the hardcovers of Red Queen and Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard, because I’m obsessed with those books.

Zzz-snatcher book (last book that kept you WAY up late)

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler because it was such a quick read and I really wanted to finish it!

So that’s it for my A to Z bookish survey! I hope you guys enjoyed, and I’ll see you next time!

-Dana

2 thoughts on “A to Z Bookish Survey!

Leave a Reply

